Winter is Coming

The busyness of fall, of the harvest and preparing for winter, has filled my life recently. While I have not been doing much to prepare for the winter, per se, I have filled each day to the brim with wonderful things.

IMG_8266

The colours of fall in the björk (birch) trees

Simon and Ramona, two friends from Switzerland, arrived a couple weeks ago. Simon has worked with Fredrik several times in the past couple of years, and is a working blacksmith himself. We had a wonderful time all together, and I got a chance to see some of the area as we explored. Although Ramona has now gone back home, Simon is here for a few more weeks, and we continue having a blast. We had to make a list to keep all of our ideas straight:

IMG_8291

Some highlights include:

The Northern Lights! It has been one of my life goals to see this phenomenon, and I was lucky to see one of the most dramatic shows in many years. This photo is by Hannes, Fredrik’s eldest son. Check out his website for more pictures of the Aurora and of Sweden.

tumblr_nvva3w04KG1utrkwno2_1280

Playing lots of chess. On the first day Simon was here, he and I forged a new set.

IMG_8275

IMG_8278

Detail of the square (white) team

And visiting Strömbaka, a historic steel producer where Fredrik had a workshop for a few years.

A store house for coal

A store house for coal

View of one of the big chimneys

View of one of the big chimneys

IMG_8256

View over Norra Dellen, featuring Simon. The lake and it’s partner to the south are meteor craters that have filled with water.

It is getting colder and colder, darker and darker, and the very air is buzzing with promise. I still don’t know how long I will be able to stay here, but that brings more joy to each hour here. I with the same joy in your lives each day.

Another sketch. Neal and Gelsey, I guess this is a submission...I was thinking that Laughing Coyote needs an iron sign post. We can be in touch about design.

Another sketch. Neal and Gelsey, I guess this is a submission…I was thinking that Laughing Coyote needs an iron sign post. We can be in touch about design.

Some ideas for a music stand

Some ideas for a music stand

3 thoughts on “Winter is Coming

  1. Your life is full…as is each passing day. Love the LCP iron sign post proposal! The bucket list of the Aurora is one of mine as well. Be safe and live each day as if it were the very first, my dear Son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

