Welcoming September

Much has happened in the past weeks since my last blog post. If I were to write about it all I would be here all day…so pictures are going to tell the tale this time. Some highlights include: visiting Per Alnaeus, a wonderful blacksmith a little south of here; stacking the winter’s firewood; forging some items for the gift shop at Gränsfors; and recently, completing the 8 day tool making course at Gränsfors.

I am settling in more and more here, although the moment I start to get comfortable, something wonderful comes along and reminds me that this is a special place. One such moment was this last Saturday evening, when we were enjoying a sauna after teaching for the day. As we sat on the dock after the first plunge in the lake, the full moon came up over the water, heavy and yellow, crisp around the edges. As we sat watching, the lights of candles and fires appeared all around the lake, twinkling like our own constellation of orange, terrestrial stars. It was Ljusnatt, a celebration of the end of the summer and the coming darkness. There is such a peacefulness here, a warmth of character and quiet in the air. Each day seems better than the last.

The future is still a mystery, but that is just as it should be. Be well and stay happy!

A good picture of Fredrik, my teacher here

A good picture of Fredrik, my teacher here

Fredrik's house, where I am living

Fredrik’s house, where I am living. It was built in 1896

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some of Per’s work

Detail of a damascus blade that Per made

Detail of a damascus blade that Per made

IMG_8027

Tea light candle holders that I helped Fredrik with for the gift shop

Napkin rings I forged, also for the gift shop

Napkin rings I forged, also for the gift shop

Some posts we made to hold a rope barrier around the axe throwing area. Yes, those are axes welded together to make the bases!

Some posts we made to hold a rope barrier around the axe throwing area at Gränsfors. Yes, those are axes welded together to make the bases!

Full steel and laminated knife I made during the course

Full steel and laminated knife I made during the course

A small hatchet I made in my free time, between sledging for the students

A small hatchet I made in my free time, in between sledging for the students

A skäggyxa, or bearded axe that I helped Fredrik make. Don't worry, I can't really pronounce it either

A skäggyxa, or bearded axe that I helped Fredrik make. Don’t worry, I can’t really pronounce it either

And of course Leia, the princess of the household. She is 10 months old

And of course Leia, the princess of the household. She is 10 months old

One thought on “Welcoming September

  1. What adventures! The shaped metal is making me drool, and I love the welded-axe rope holders! If that laminated blade is looking for a home, let me know… Also, your hatchet looks amazing and with that bearded axe we could go a-viking.
    Keep up the good Work.
    Neal

    Like

Leave a Reply

